September beckons for teachers

This is my last new school year but I think that like most teachers, I will forever feel the tug of Labour Day long after I have retired.  There are 3 weeks until school starts and I am already having dreams about not finding my classroom etc.  Having spent most of my life in school, I have always felt that real life begins when summer is over. Harry Bruce’s essay “Labour Day is a dreaded bell in the schoolyard of the mind” is the perfect summation of this syndrome.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to September beckons for teachers

  1. Saundra says:

    Your phrase, ‘The tug of Labour Day’ surely speaks to all teachers, present and former. I have my own tongue in cheek phrase: “….still chasing school buses down the road!”…..tee hee hee

Leave a Reply

